Is it legal to carry mace or pepper spray in san diego, ca?
In California, it is illegal to purchase, possess, or use any pepper spray that contains more than 2.5 ounces net weight of aerosol spray. San Diego does not impose any greater restrictions.
Years ago, you used to have to get a license to carry mace, but they've relaxed those restrictions as well.
Yes - with a permit.
I live in CA, not San Diego. I believe it is state law that you have to have a permit to carry either pepper spray or mace.
It's better to have it and not need it, what's the cost of a hospital bill if you get your head bashed in. Just use your head and keep it under cover
There are laws concerning pepper spray and mace in California.
Misuse of tear gas in California comes with state penalties of up to a $1000 fine and/or up to three years in prison, not to mention a possible felony conviction on record. Examples of misuse include using tear gas on people in anger, spraying it as a joke, or possession of tear gas by prohibited persons. Minors, drug addicts or persons convicted of felonies, assault or misuse of tear gas are legally prohibited from possessing tear gas, although there are few barriers to procurement of tear gas by these people. To be legally purchased, possessed or used in California, any canister must have a label that says "WARNING: The use of this substance or device for any purpose other than self-defense is a crime under the law. The contents are dangerous--use with care." The maximum legal net weight for a canister is 2.5 ounces, or 70 grams of OC, CS or CN. CR is not legal for civilian use.
For detailed information you can check out the link. Hope that helps!
The Answers post by the user, for information only, FreeLawAnswer does not guarantee the right.
More Questions and Answers:
- Criminal Justice Question??
- Anyone else note the irony of the latest three supreme court rulings?
- Can a defensive side of a criminal trial prosecute someone!?!?!??!?
- What is the easiest way to check someones criminal background without having to pay for it?
- Why is Portland mayor against arresting criminals ?.?
- Now that Scooter Libby was sentenced to 30 months and fined 250,000, any one else think he was innocent?
- Can I change my no contest plea to a plea of not guilty?
- Since when was this illegal?
- Trademark and copyright symbols? <STARS>?
- In Illinois, if you expunge your criminal record, does the FBI still have your record on file?