Do u know poetry.com? how do they acquire money?
is it identity theft? i submitted a poem just 3 days ago to learn that they are a HUGE fvcking scam and now i'm worried that my poem will be published with someone else's name as a writer without my consent and i'm worried they might use my identity for scams!
I AM SO FOCKING ANGRY!!!!!!!
Answers:
They, and others like them, are what is known as "vanity press". As a previous respondent says, they will compile a book and then invite you to buy a copy. Your name will appear as the author but you have, by submitting the poem, ceded any Copyright to them.
S0d's Law says that the poem you submitted is probably one that you think is one of your best. I'm afraid you have to chalk this one up to experience and avoid the vanity press in future until you have enough to create an anthology of your own. Then use a publisher listed in Yellow Pages and/or registered with Companies House (assuming you're UK?) whose integrity you can check.
Simple Copyright:
If you like submitting your work for no financial gain you could try your local paper. Ours has a poets' corner and I've had a couple in, in the past (he said modestly). Never send the original, only ever send a photocopy or scan and before you copy/scan it make sure it has your name and address, and the date at the top and bottom. Sign over these in BLUE ink and then do the photocopying/scanning in mono. That way, you retain your right to claim the work as your own. My son designs tattoos and this works fine for him.
If you want to make money from your art, do exactly the same as above, but send copies/scans of all the poems you want in your anthology.
If you're submitting on the Internet, use your parents' address and use a "pen name". That way you will avoid any possibility of someone running up a mobile phone bill or personal loan in your name.
They make they're money by putting loads of poems together for a book. They will put your name it, but the book is only bought by the people who are in it! (You, The poets)
They charge about $120 (£60) for the book!
so basically, yes it is a sort of scam, but its not REALLY if you get me.
They say your poem will be in a book, and offer you the book for price. They arent lying, because they do actually print the book.
I dont know. But a couple years ago I submitted a poem and there is no way to take it off the site! Its ridiculous!
Answer: If you are serious about having your work published, I suggest you start with small press...as you obtain publishing credits you will find it easier to be seriously considered when submitting to paying markets.
Below is an example
The answers post by the user, for information only, FreeLawAnswer.com does not guarantee the right.
Answer question:
More Law Questions and Answers:
