what is the legal working age in florida ?

I need to know because I want to apply for a job at a local bicycle shop.

Answers:
I quote from the State of Florida:
"CHILD LABOR OVERVIEW

HOURS

When school IS in session: Florida law states that on a school day, minors under 16 may work no more than three hours when school is scheduled the following day and up to eight hours on other days when school does not follow. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) states that minors may work no more than three hours on a school day and eight hours on non school days. The practical application of both state and federal law allows minors under 16 to work three hours on all days except Saturday and Sunday when they may work up to eight hours per day.

When school IS NOT in session: Florida law allows minors 14 & 15 to work eight hours per day between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m., on days when there isn’t school the next day and up to 40 hours per week on non school weeks and during summer vacation. Note: Federal law limits this age group to work from 7 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. From June 1 to Labor Day they may work until 9:00 p.m.

For minors 16 & 17, the allowable work hours are: 30 hours a week when school is in session; eight hours per day between 6:30 a.m. and 11:00 p.m. if school is scheduled the following day. There are no limitations on hours worked when school is not scheduled the following day or during holidays and summer vacation.

Minors are NOT permitted to work during normal school hours unless they are enrolled in a school-to-work experience program, career education or other program declared exempt by the state or have received a partial waiver.

BREAKS:

Minors are not permitted to work for more than four hours without a 30-minute, uninterrupted meal break. This applies throughout the year.

DAYS:

Minors are not permitted to work more than six consecutive days in one week. This applies throughout the year.

PARTIAL WAIVERS:

The Florida Law is designed to serve and protect minors while encouraging them to remain in school. At times, minors may feel that the law conflicts with their best interest, therefore they have the right to request exemption from parts of the law. Waivers may be granted on a case-by-case basis, when it clearly appears in the best interest of the minor. For more information on Partial Waivers, access the Partial Waivers section. For a Partial Waiver application access forms/fcl_1002.pdf .

EXEMPTIONS:

Minors are exempt from the hours restrictions of the Child Labor Law if they have been married, graduated from an accredited high school or hold a high school equivalency diploma, served in the military, authorized by a court order, or been issued a partial waiver by the public school or the Farm and Child Labor Program.

PROHIBITED JOBS:

The rules governing hazardous occupations and equipment are divided into two groups: one for minors ages 14 and 15 and another for all minors. To access Child Labor hazardous occupation information, you may access either Hazardous Occupations or Federal Web Site links.

EMPLOYER REQUIREMENTS:

Employers are required to keep proof of age on all minor employees and any documents, which exempts the minor from the law. Employers are required to post in a conspicuous place, on the property or place of employment, where it may be easily read, a poster which notifies minors of the Child Labor Law. You may find the required poster by accessing Poster."
i think its 34


The Answers post by the user, for information only, FreeLawAnswer does not guarantee the right.
Answer question:


More Law Questions & Answers...